MLK Day

I am serious when I say “Your daily time-wasting needs” That’s why I felt like a used-car salesman/ Mitt Romney when I failed to post a blog post yesterday. Oh, the shame that I felt was unimaginable, but fortunately I was able to pull myself together between my tears today to attempt to make up for it. Check this out, I’m going to post twice today to make up for the fact that I missed one yesterday. Not everyone would do that!

 (Seriously, it was hard. Check out my to-do list)
You people (and by “you people” I mean the two of you who read this) really are lucky. Consider this: Today is Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Most people just take the day off on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, but not me. On the contrary, I not only did two blog posts today, but I also had classes today. (Because apparently CNU doesn’t find Martin Luther King Jr. worthy of a day off) The effort that I put into this Monday was impressive to say the least, but let’s not dwell on that. Instead lets talk about MLK.
MLK, contrary to popular belief, does not stand for Milk on the New York stock exchange ticker. Martin Luther King was born in Atlanta, Georgia in 1929. He made his way through school quite quickly, skipping a couple of grades and then went to seminary to become a pastor. He then attained his doctorate from Boston University after plagiarizing a good amount of his doctoral thesis. (Seriously.)
MLK had a mad man-crush on Ghandi’s ideas of peaceful protest to make great changes, and he happened to notice little things that were going on in the United States like segregation, discrimination and vicious mistreatment of African-Americans. (But seriously, it was bad.)
King encouraged the use of Ghandi’s strategy of change in the Montgomery Bus Boycott. He was among the African-American leaders in the community that encouraged others to just stop taking the buses after Rosa Parks made national news by refusing to give up her seat to a white passenger.
  (The only white people I want to be on a bus with are Ladies Liberty and Justice)
As the civil rights movement grew, MLK appeared at many different locations encouraging people to rise up in nonviolent protest and break the bonds of prejudice that had for so long tied American society to the stake of hypocrisy. It was through his direction that many African-Americans across the south stood up for themselves and declared that they would no longer suffer the indecency of being treated as second class citizens. (Southern cops decided that the best way to spread justice was by blasting them with torrents of water.)
On August 23rd (my sister’s birthday!!) 1963 MLK took part in the March on Washington. It happened to be the coolest thing ever, but it scared the crap out of the racist politicians in D.C. at the time (Strom Thurmond) Fortunately for the jerks the march was non-violent and showcased many speakers declaring that the time had come for America to stop it’s insufferable mistreatment of the African-American community and make legislation to prevent it from happening again.
Then MLK got up to speak, and man did he speak.

“I say to you today, my friends, so even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”
I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.
I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”
(He’s so dreamy)
 We shouldn’t forget what this man stood for and what he did for this country. He did not just make this country better for African-Americans. MLK made this country better for all of us. It is through his truths that we can find ourselves questioning our prejudices and forgone conclusions on people. If not for Martin Luther King Jr. where would America be? Some argue that the Civil Rights Act was inevitable. Today, as we see the inhumane mistreatment of America’s illegal immigrants and poor of all colors, it is hard to accept that as true.

…On an entirely brighter note, I think MLK day should be moved to the Monday after Superbowl Sunday. It ought to be a national holiday anyway, and I’m sure MLK would approve!

Leave a Reply

