Happy?

Bloated and heavy,
Stomach hanging over my knees,
I sit behind the balcony,
Staring at the trees.

A long time ago
Before modern societies
men were born, they lived, they died
Out there amongst the trees.

And now I have to laugh
They knew not how to live
I have food, a couch and television
All that society can give.

The men of old were so unfortunate
They could never be as happy as me.
Though now and then I get a little restless,
With some kind of yearning to be free.

With a bit of a struggle,
I remove myself from my chair
I breath heavy from the exertion
and taste unknown freedom in the air.

One response to “Happy?

Leave a Reply

