Returning to Hampden

Driving down the road,
returning from nostalgic memories,
I roll down the windows
And taste familiar air.

The breeze is cool and crisp,
About fifty five degrees,
But Summer smells pervade
And take me back again.

Crickets chirp.
The smell of burgers on a grill,
fresh cut grass and pine trees,
I have to stop the car.

The car falls silent,
The world around does not,
And countless stars light up the night,
just for me to see.

The familiar smells and sights,
are present memories.
I experience and remember
synchronously.

Among the sea of trees
In the town of Hampden, Maine,
the memories come back to me,
And welcome me back home.

 

Leave a Reply

