Smile

Soaring like an eagle over fields of gold
my soul flies with boyish alacrity
prompted by the advent of a smile
like a catalyst of a chemical reaction

a single smile started to shred
my perceptions of what this world could be
With frightful fracturing facing my mirror
of self and where I fit within.

And though the poets write of pain
so often when in love,
The circumstances confronting me
supply only intangible joy

So do the world and I a favor
And smile again for us
Because I need a light like you
to let me fly again

Leave a Reply

