Love’s a Season

Heartfelt
The smile is
“Love you,”
She says to me.

In little time at all
She’ll leave me for another
Yet she is here now
Later feelings fall asunder

She messes up my hair
She wakes me from my sleep
She smiles and her eyes
Say things I think are deep

As the sun sets on our time
And I know the end is near
I hold her closer to me
And let her know that she is dear

“I am so very sorry”
She said on her way out
I knew that she was true
I never received a doubt

Some love only lasts a season
A Summer filled with sun
With inevitable Fall approaching
And soon the love is done.

But there should be no mourning
When people choose to depart
They leave two wiser people
And much stronger in the heart.

Leave a Reply

