Not Meant to Be

I can’t be your guy,
I’m not that naive,
A romance that we found
Isn’t meant to be.

I’m just a man
I don’t have a plan
I would have been good to you
As best I can

But it’s not meant to be.

I’m sure that you’ll cry
Don’t fall to your knees
I never meant any harm to you
So listen to me please

It might sound absurd
It’s hard to conceive
I don’t want to come across as just a tease.
You’re worth more than this.
You’re worth more than me.
You’re worth more than a fantasy or a summer dream.

It’s just not meant to be.

Don’t be feeling bad
I don’t want you the slight bit sad
It’s just not easy,
when it isn’t meant to be.

I don’t want to break a heart,
As fragile as it may be.
But it seems that I’ll just be,
Another distant summer dream.

I won’t forget your smile,
Just don’t forget me.
I don’t want to be a forgotten man
of what just couldn’t be.

I’ll let it live on,
if only in song,
And I’ll never forget
What wasn’t meant to be.

I’m only a man,
I’m only a dream
A simple vision of
What could have been

The summer passed by
Like clouds in a sky
The metaphoric rain of all
the tears you cried

I won’t forget you,
Just don’t forget me,
And we’ll both smile when we think of
What wasn’t meant to be.

Leave a Reply

