August

It’s that time of the year again: That time of the year when a young man’s fancy turns from love to school. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then clearly you’ve never heard the expression, “Ah Spring, the time when a young man’s fancy turns to love…” Each of the seasons have a time for a young man. In Spring it is love, in Summer, it’s still love, in late Summer it’s school, in fall it’s football, and in the winter it’s The Hobbit.

Oh yes.

But I digress. As school approaches with the velocity of a hungry cheetah I find myself inexplicably drawn toward the thought of a return. Summers in school are simply unrealistic. I have been volunteering in the morning and working at night. My job is a simple one that doesn’t require me to worry about it when I am not there. Likewise with my volunteering. When I am not at either of those two places, I am free to do just about whatever I’d please. I can sleep in late and stay up late if I want to. I can go fishing or laze about and play Skyrim, or I can blog the morning away without worrying about homework or studying or my future or any of that stuff.

…But all that is about to change. Once school resumes, freedom ceases. Fun and game time is exchanged for sleep time because regular sleep time will be spent in the library. Spending time with friends becomes an odd challenge because, though they all live within a square mile radius, everyone is too busy to even grab lunch together. (In the words of Kurt Vonnegut:) “So it goes.”

Yet the idea exhilaration me. Summer brought with it a much needed slow crawl that allowed me to sloth my way back to sanity after a crazy last couple of school weeks. Now I am ready to dive back under the razor wire to the next trench that is my junior year in college.

My best friend (Michelle) will be living just a little way down the hall from where I am, I got all the classes I wanted to/needed to take this semester, I have a job on campus, and finding a job off campus on the weekends should not be so challenging for someone with as much work experience as I do.

There is no dread going back to school after this summer (which is uncharacteristic of my earlier school years) I’m ready for CNU again.

…The question is: Is CNU ready for me??

Leave a Reply

