Why Science and History Are The Only Reasons I Wish I Had Cable At Home

Discovery Channel, History Channel, and Animal Planet. Those are my top three reasons for wanting to get cable at my house.When I was still in middle school my family decided that we weren’t watching enough cable t.v. to make it worth the fifty or sixty bucks that we were paying per month to watch it. We got rid of cable and picked up Netflix for the rest of my time at home.

I didn’t think much about it at the time. Back in those days the only channels I was watching were Disney, Nickelodeon and sometimes Cartoon Network. Despite my nostalgic memories of my favorite shows like Invader Zim, The Proud Family, and Kim Possible, they were not worth fifty bucks a month.

Although I’m curious as to where Nick went with this…

I was quite content over the last six years without cable television, but now I’m in college and there is a cable t.v. in every room. The influence is one that I haven’t felt in a long time, and though I don’t, all of a sudden, feel the desire to have cable t.v. in my home, I can see a valid reason why I might want it.

No, it has nothing to do with The Walking Dead or Game of Thrones. …That’s what questionable television web sites are for. The thing that draws me back to cable after all these years are all the things I tended to avoid all those years ago.

This.

Discovery channel is awesome. I can sit down in my living room and eat a quick snack and learn that there is a hexagonal-shaped super storm on the north pole of Saturn that has been there as long as we have taken a close enough look at Saturn. To put that in perspective; Spongebob is annoying.

But there’s more: It also turns out that the Klu Klux Klan were a major influence on southern politics from the late 1800’s through the late 1900’s. For a while, in certain parts of the country, you could not get elected without being an official Klansman. (History Channel)

And this is a whale. (Animal Planet)

These channels that teach me stuff are awesome. If there was any reason to get cable again, it would be to watch a couple of channels where I can learn some random facts that I never really needed to know in the first place. If I had cable all these years, I would be the best Jeopardy player ever.

Leave a Reply

